Buddha Blog

The Buddha denies the existence of any permanent entity either physical or mental. We call this theory about self as Anatmavada.

The Anatmavada Buddha Blog contains over 500 Buddhist quotes. You can select them by author, keyword or category.

Buddha Topics

Our Hosting


Pali Canon

Content Vinaya Pitaka
Sutta Pitaka
(contains the Dhammapada)
Abhidhamma Pitaka
 Dharma Wheel
The Pāli Canon is the standard collection of scriptures from Gautama Buddha in the Theravada Buddhist tradition, as preserved in the Pāli language. It is the only completely surviving early Buddhist canon, and one of the first to be written down.
The Pali Canon was composed in North India, and preserved orally until it was committed to writing during the Fourth Buddhist Council in Sri Lanka in 29 BCE, approximately four hundred and fifty four years after the dying of Gautama Buddha.For practicing Buddhists, references to “dharma” particularly as “the Dharma”, generally means the teachings of the Buddha. The Dharma Wheel symbolise the Wheel of Buddhist Law, the endless cycle of birth and rebirth and the 8 spokes representing the Noble Eightfold Path.
Content of the Pali Canon
The Pāli Canon falls into three general categories, called pitaka (basket). Because of this, the canon is traditionally known as the Tipitaka. The three pitakas are as follows:


  • Maha Vibhanga
  • Bikkhuni Vibhanga
  • Mahavagga
  • Culla Vagga
  • Parivar



  • Digha-Nikaya
  • Majjhima-Nikaya
  • Samyutta-Nikaya
  • Anguttara-Nikaya
  • Khuddaka-Nikaya (Contains the Dhammapada)



  • Dhammasangani
  • Vibhanga
  • Dhatukatha
  • Puggalapannatti
  • Kathavatthue
  • Yamaka
  • Patthana
Read all Gautama Buddha Quotes on Anatmavada Buddha Blog
Link to other Buddhist Teachers